logo HSD FIN-01.png

JUNE 24, 2021

Holocaust Survivor Day

Don't be indifferent



On March 6, 2021, Michael Berenbaum and Jonathan Ornstein published the following op-ed in The Jerusalem Post calling for the creation of a "Holocaust Survivor Day." In their words, "Holocaust survivors deserve a day of joy; a day of celebration. Not a day to share with condemnation of the Nazis, but a day to celebrate their lives they built in response to the Holocaust. Survivors represent the best in all of us, the best of the human spirit. They are our treasure and our light and we must shine that light into every dark corner of our world. We call on the world to join us and celebrate the inaugural Holocaust Survivor Day on June 26th."


Why June 24?

June 26th is Auschwitz survivor Marian Turski’s birthday which falls on Shabbat this year so we are celebrating on Thursday, June 24th. This date  was chosen to acknowledge the importance and impact of the noted historian, journalist, and the moral conscience of Poland’s Jewish community, and especially his powerful speech at last year’s ceremony commemorating the 75th Anniversary of the Liberation of Auschwitz-Birkenau. Mr. Turski had this to say:


"Auschwitz did not fall from the sky. It began with small forms of persecution of Jews. It happened; it means it can happen anywhere. That is why human rights and democratic constitutions must be defended. The eleventh commandment is important: Don't be indifferent. Do not be indifferent when you see historical lies, do not be indifferent when any minority is discriminated against, do not be indifferent when power violates a social contract."


Join us as and celebrate the lives of the survivors from your own community and the living legacies left by those who are no longer with us. 



For organizations:


Fill out the registration form below and let us know you're interested in joining the event in June. JCC Krakow will be in touch to answer questions and collaborate with you on comprehensive programming suited to fit the needs of your community. 


International Advisory Committee

Meryl Ain

Author, The Takeaway Men: A Novel

Ellen Bachner Greenberg

Co-founder and President, Descendants of Holocaust Survivors (2G Greater NY)

Anat Barber

Assistant Director, Capital Gifts and Special Initiatives, UJA Federation of New York

Judy Batalion

Author, "The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos"

Avi Benlolo

Human Rights Advocate

Herbert Block

Executive Director, American Zionist Movement

Joel Citron

Vice-Chairman, Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial Foundation

Angela Cohen

Chairman, '45 Aid Society

Tova Dorfman

Vice Chairman and Head of the Department for Israel and the Commemoration of the Holocaust Worldwide, World Zionist Organization

Cheryl Fishbein

Chair, Jewish Council for Public Affairs

Marcy Gringlas

President & Co-Founder, Seed the Dream Foundation

Rabba Batya Jacobs

Yerushalayim Torah Academy

Beth Kean

Executive Director, Holocaust Museum LA

Rabbi David Seth Kirshner

Rabbi of Temple Emanu-El, in NJ

Doron Krakow

President and CEO, JCC Association of North America

Helise Lieberman

Executive Director, Taube Center for Jewish Life & Learning Foundation

Dianne Lob

Chair, Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations

Mark Medin

Executive Vice President, UJA Federation of New York

Michael Newman

Chief Executive, The Association of Jewish Refugees

Lizzie Oved Scheja

Founder & Director, Judisk Kultur i Sverige

Shana Penn

Executive Director, Taube Philanthropies

Shelley Rood Wernick

Managing Director, Center on Aging and Trauma at JFNA

Elana Rosenfield

President, 3GDC

Eli Rubinstein

Director of Education, International March of the Living

Stacey Saiontz

Museum of Jewish Heritage - A Living Memorial to the Holocaust Trustee

Mariano Schlimovich

Executive Director, European Council of Jewish Communities

Edward Serotta

Director, Centropa

Stephen D. Smith

Andrew J. and Erna Finci Viterbi Executive Director Chair, USC Shoah Foundation

Dariusz Stola

Professor, Institute of Political Studies in Warsaw, former Director of the POLIN Museum

Elizabeth Szancer

Art Curator

Gideon Taylor

Board President, Claims Conference

Mark Wilf

Chair of the Board of Trustees, JFNA

Piotr Wiślicki

Chairperson, Association of the Jewish Historical Institute of Poland

Maria Zalewska

Executive Director, Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial Foundation

Colette Avital

Chairperson, Center Organizations of Holocaust Survivors in Israel

Smadar Bar-Akiva

Executive Director, JCC Global

Staci Barber

Co-Chair, JFNA's Holocaust Survivor Initiative

Rabbi Avi Baumol

Rabbinic Representative of the Chief Rabbi of Poland in Krakow

Michael Berenbaum

Director, Sigi Ziering Institute at the American Jewish University

Sharon Buenos

Global Director, Zikaron BaSalon

Ulrika Citron

USC Shoah Foundation Next Generation Council member

William Daroff

Chief Executive Officer, Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations

Rabbi Mark Dratch

Executive Vice President, Rabbinical Council of America

Phyllis Greenberg Heideman

President, International March of the Living

Malcolm Hoenlein

Executive Vice Chairman, Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations

Avi Jorisch

Author, Entrepreneur

Barbara Kirshenblatt Gimblett

Ronald S. Lauder Chief Curator of the Core Exhibition at POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews

Dr. Miriam Klein Kassenoff

Director, Holocaust Teacher Education Institute, School of Education, University of Miami

Hannah Lessing

Secretary General, General Settlement Fund for Victims of National Socialism

Deborah Lipstadt

Dorot Professor of Modern Jewish History and Holocaust Studies, Emory University

Lindsay Matloff

Director, Leadership Operations, JFNA

Susan Myers

President, The Association of Holocaust Organizations (AHO)

Jonathan Ornstein

Executive Director, JCC Krakow

Rabbi Michael Paley

Tarbut Director & Senior Scholar at Joint Distribution Committee

Lord Eric Pickles

United Kingdom Special Envoy for post-Holocaust issues

Rabbi Dr. Bernhard Rosenberg

Chairman, Holocaust Commission of the New York Board of Rabbis

Menachem Rosensaft

General Counsel and Associate Executive Vice President, World Jewish Congress

Rabbi Peter J. Rubinstein

Senior VP, Jewish Community
Managing Director, 92Y Bronfman Center

Scott Saunders

Founder & Chairman, March of the Living UK

Rabbi Michael Schudrich

Chief Rabbi of Poland

Paula Slier

CEO and Founder, Newshound Media International

Rabbi Josh Spinner

Executive VP and CEO, Ronald S. Lauder Foundation

Zygmunt Stępiński

Director, POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews

Tad Taube

Chariman, Taube Philanthropies

Vicki Warner

President, Friends of JCC Krakow

Anita Winter

Founder and President, Gamaraal Foundation

Rabbi David Wolpe

Max Webb Senior Rabbi at Temple Sinai