top of page

International Advisory Committee

Holocaust Survivor Day was initiated by JCC Krakow and is now led by a growing committee of activists, scholars, Jewish communal leaders, rabbis and other leading figures in the world of Holocaust education and commemoration.

Meryl Ain

Author, The Takeaway Men: A Novel

Colette Avital

Chairperson, Center Organizations of Holocaust Survivors in Israel

Ellen Bachner Greenberg

Co-founder and President, Descendants of Holocaust Survivors (2G Greater NY)

Smadar Bar-Akiva

Executive Director, JCC Global

Anat Barber

Assistant Director, Capital Gifts and Special Initiatives, UJA Federation of New York

Staci Barber

Co-Chair, JFNA's Holocaust Survivor Initiative

Judy Batalion

Author, "The Light of Days: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos"

Rabbi Avi Baumol

Rabbinic Representative of the Chief Rabbi of Poland in Krakow

Carol Becker

Businesswoman, Philanthropist

Avi Benlolo

Founding Chairman & CEO, The Abraham Global Peace Initiative

Michael Berenbaum

Director, Sigi Ziering Institute at the American Jewish University

Herbert Block

Executive Director, American Zionist Movement

Sharon Buenos

Global Director, Zikaron BaSalon

Joel Citron

Vice-Chairman, Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial Foundation

Ulrika Citron

USC Shoah Foundation Next Generation Council member

Angela Cohen

Chairman, '45 Aid Society

William Daroff

Chief Executive Officer, Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations

Tova Dorfman

President, World Zionist Organization

Rabbi Mark Dratch

Executive Vice President, Rabbinical Council of America

Cheryl Fishbein

Chair, Jewish Council for Public Affairs

Phyllis Greenberg Heideman

President, International March of the Living

Marcy Gringlas

President & Co-Founder, Seed the Dream Foundation

Malcolm Hoenlein

Executive Vice Chairman, Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations

Shira Hutt

Executive Vice President, JFNA

Rabba Batya Jacobs

Yerushalayim Torah Academy

Avi Jorisch

Author, Entrepreneur

Beth Kean

Executive Director, Holocaust Museum LA

Barbara Kirshenblatt Gimblett

Ronald S. Lauder Chief Curator of the Core Exhibition at POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews

Rabbi David Seth Kirshner

Rabbi of Temple Emanu-El, in NJ

Dr. Miriam Klein Kassenoff

Director, Holocaust Teacher Education Institute, School of Education, University of Miami

Doron Krakow

President and CEO, JCC Association of North America

Hannah Lessing

Secretary General, General Settlement Fund for Victims of National Socialism

Helise Lieberman

Executive Director, Taube Center for Jewish Life & Learning Foundation

Dianne Lob

Chair, Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations

Lindsay Matloff

Director, Leadership Operations, JFNA

Mark Medin

Executive Vice President, UJA Federation of New York

Susan Myers

President, The Association of Holocaust Organizations (AHO)

Michael Newman

Chief Executive, The Association of Jewish Refugees (AJR)

Jonathan Ornstein

Executive Director, JCC Krakow

Lizzie Oved Scheja

Founder & Director, Judisk Kultur i Sverige

Rabbi Michael Paley

Senior Scholar at Joint Distribution Committee

Shana Penn

Executive Director, Taube Philanthropies

Lord Eric Pickles

United Kingdom Special Envoy for post-Holocaust issues

Shelley Rood Wernick

Managing Director, Center on Holocaust Survivor Care and Institute on Aging and Trauma at JFNA

Rabbi Dr. Bernhard Rosenberg

Chairman, Holocaust Commission of the New York Board of Rabbis

Elana Rosenfield

President, 3GDC

Menachem Rosensaft

General Counsel and Associate Executive Vice President, World Jewish Congress

Eli Rubenstein

Director of Education, International March of the Living

Rabbi Peter J. Rubinstein

Senior VP, Jewish Community
Managing Director, 92Y Bronfman Center

Stacey Saiontz

Museum of Jewish Heritage - A Living Memorial to the Holocaust Trustee

Scott Saunders

Founder & Chairman, March of the Living UK

Mariano Schlimovich

Executive Director, European Council of Jewish Communities

Rabbi Michael Schudrich

Chief Rabbi of Poland

Edward Serotta

Director, Centropa

Jordana Siegel

Young Leaders Liaison

Paula Slier

CEO and Founder, Newshound Media International

Rabbi Josh Spinner

Executive VP and CEO, Ronald S. Lauder Foundation

Dariusz Stola

Professor, Institute of Political Studies in Warsaw, former Director of the POLIN Museum

Zygmunt Stępiński

Director, POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews

Elizabeth Szancer

Art Curator

Tad Taube

Chariman, Taube Philanthropies

Gideon Taylor

Board President, Claims Conference

Vicki Warner

President, Friends of JCC Krakow

Mark Wilf

Chairman of the Board of Governors, The Jewish Agency for Israel

Anita Winter

Founder and President, Gamaraal Foundation

Piotr Wiślicki

Chairperson, Association of the Jewish Historical Institute of Poland

Rabbi David Wolpe

Max Webb Senior Rabbi at Temple Sinai

Maria Zalewska

Executive Director, Auschwitz-Birkenau Memorial Foundation

bottom of page