Holocaust Survivor Day
online event schedule

Thank you for your interest in joining the inaugural Holocaust Survivor Day on June 24th, 2021. Holocaust Survivors represent the best in all of us and we are thrilled to be able to celebrate their lives and legacies later this month.
 

There will be four official events organized this year by Holocaust Survivor Day. The program will begin at 12 pm ET / 9 am PT / 6 pm CET / 7 pm Israel time with an opening panel featuring leaders in the fields of Holocaust education and survivor advocacy, followed by three breakout discussion panels at 1 pm ET / 10 am PT / 7 pm CET / 8 pm Israel with survivors, children of survivors, and grandchildren of survivors, respectively.

 

All official Holocaust Survivor Day programs will be streamed live on the HSD website here:

HSD Opening Panel
Holocaust Survivor Day: Does the Jewish world need another holiday?

June 24th
12 AM EST / 9 AM PT / 6 PM CET / 7 PM ISRAEL

Watch and join the opening panel of the inaugural Holocaust Survivor Day. The featured panelists will explore the origin and idea behind HSD, discuss what is being done to support survivors in their twilight years, and reflect on what the future might look like without them. Opening remarks will be provided by Mark Wilf, Chair of the Board of Trustees of Jewish Federations of North America.

Panelists:

  • Colette Avital, Chairperson, Center of the Organizations of Holocaust Survivors in Israel

  • Ulrika Citron, Board Member, USC Shoah Foundation

  • Jonathan Ornstein, Executive Director, JCC Krakow; Founder, Holocaust Survivor Day

  • Rabbi Michael Paley, Senior Scholar, JDC

  • Stephen D. Smith,  Andrew J. and Erna Finci Viterbi Executive Director Chair, USC Shoah Foundation
     

To register for the event, please click the button below. A Zoom link will be provided to all registered participants so they can join the conversation and ask questions during the panel.

Holocaust Survivor Panel:
Rebuilding life after the Shoah

A discussion panel with Holocaust survivors led by Dr. Michael Berenbaum on June 24th at 1pm EDT | 10am PDT | 7pm CET
 
Join Dr. Michael Berenbaum, Director of the Sigi Ziering Institute, as he speaks to Holocaust survivors who have leveraged their vast life experience to help build community and inform change in the world around them. 

Panelists:
 

  • Michael Berenbaum - Director, Sigi Ziering Institute at the American Jewish University
     

  • Roman Haller - Holocaust Survivor
     

  • Gabriella Major - Holocaust Survivor
     

  • Marian Turski - Holocaust Survivor

Second Generation Panel:
Being the child of Holocaust Survivors

A panel with children of Holocaust survivors on June 24th at 1pm EDT | 10am PDT | 7pm CET

 
Join the panelists, all of whom are children of Holocaust survivors, as they discuss the stories and lessons learned from their parents, and what a day honoring survivors means to them.
 



Panelists:
 

  • Ellen Bachner Greenberg - Co-founder and President, Descendants of Holocaust Survivors (2G Greater NY)
     

  • Susan Kent Avijan
     

  • Leah Rozenfeld Sills
     

  • Mirriam Friedman Morris

Third Generation Panel:
Growing up with Holocaust Survivors as grandparents

A panel with grandchildren of Holocaust survivors on June 24th at 1pm EDT | 10am PDT | 7pm CET
 

Join a special panel with grandchildren of Holocaust survivors who will reflect on time spent with their grandparents and advice they wish to pass along to younger generations. 
 



Panelists:
 

  • Anat Barber - Assistant Director, Capital Gifts and Special Initiatives, UJA Federation of New York
     

  • Beth Kean - Executive Director, Holocaust Museum LA
     

  • Stacey Saiontz - Museum of Jewish Heritage - A Living Memorial to the Holocaust Trustee
     

  • Chen Yurista - 

If you are interested in helping plan an event or workshop for your own local community, please see our list of suggested programs available here: